III. Schedule of Dates

The dates for the 2021-2022 academic year are listed by semester.

Reading Weeks and Study Break Days

Reading Weeks and Study Break Days are designated periods where normal class schedules and academic requirements are suspended for a specified period of time. These breaks are designed to support student wellness and good mental health. The University of Guelph-Humber is committed to a learning environment that fosters the whole student and, as such, values these Senate-approved breaks as a period free of academic events and evaluations for the student.

The Fall Study Break begins at the end of classes on the Friday before Thanksgiving Monday and ends with the resumption of classes following the break.

The Winter Study Break (“Reading Week”) begins at the end of classes on the Friday prior to the third Monday in February and ends with the resumption of classes on the Monday following the break.

Specific dates are published in the Schedule of Dates for each semester and differ by campus.

There are to be no compulsory academic events (e.g., classes, lectures, labs, tutorials, seminars, exams) during scheduled breaks. This includes online and in-class courses.

Instructors are not permitted to schedule academic evaluations or have an evaluative component deadline due during a scheduled reading week or study break day. This includes examinations, tests, quizzes, presentations, essays, assignments, lab reports, qualifying examinations, or any other form of academic evaluation.

Some exceptions may exist such as clinical rotations and placements, field work or experiential learning integral to the course, and graduate oral examinations (qualifying exam, thesis defense) upon approval of the relevant Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, the relevant Program Head for the University of Guelph-Humber campus and the Assistant Vice-President, Graduate Studies.

Scheduled breaks apply to all undergraduate, graduate and associate diploma students. They also apply to all degree-credit and associate diploma-credit courses.

Summer Semester 2021 (12 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, May 10
  • Classes commence
  • Deferred Examination Period for Winter 2021 courses commence
Friday, May 14
  • Deferred Examination Period for Winter 2021 courses conclude
Tuesday, May 18
  • Last day to add Summer 2021 courses
Monday, May 24
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Tuesday, August 3
Monday, June 21
  • Convocation
Thursday, July 1
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Wednesday, August 4
Friday, July 2
  • No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Thursday, August 5
Tuesday, July 6
  • 40th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Monday, August 2
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Monday, August 9
Tuesday, August 3
  • Classes rescheduled from Monday, May 24 - Monday schedule in effect
Wednesday, August 4
  • Classes rescheduled from Thursday, July 1 - Thursday schedule in effect
Thursday, August 5
  • Classes rescheduled from Friday, July 2 - Friday schedule in effect
  • Classes conclude
  • Last day to drop full semester course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Summer 2021 (12 week format) elective courses
Monday, August 9
  • Final Examinations commence
  • Fall 2021 Convocation Application opens
Friday, August 13
  • Final Examinations conclude
Monday, August 16
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Summer Session 2021 courses (12 week format)

Summer Semester 2021 - Session I (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, May 10
  • Classes commence
Friday, May 14
  • Last day to add Summer Session I course(s)
Monday, May 24
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Monday, June 21
Monday, June 7
  • 20th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Monday, June 21
  • Convocation
  • Classes rescheduled from Monday, May 24 -- Monday schedule in effect
  • Classes conclude Summer Session I
  • Last day to drop Summer Session I course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Summer 2021 Session I elective courses
Thursday, June 24
  • Final examinations commence - Summer Session I
Saturday, June 26
  • No exams scheduled
Tuesday, June 29
  • Final examinations conclude - Summer Session I
Monday, July 5
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Summer Session I 2021 courses (6 week format)

Summer Semester 2021 - Session II (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, July 5
  • Classes commence
Thursday, July 8
  • Last day to add Summer Session II course(s)
Friday, July 30
  • 20th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Monday, August 2
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled -- Classes rescheduled to Monday, August 16
Monday, August 9
  • Fall 2021 Convocation Application opens
Monday, August 16
  • Classes rescheduled from Monday, August 2 - Monday schedule in effect
  • Classes conclude Summer Session II
  • Last day to drop Summer Session II course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Summer 2021 Session II elective courses
Thursday, August 19
  • Final Examinations commence - Summer Session II
Saturday, August 21
  • No exams scheduled
Monday, August 23
  • Final Examinations conclude - Summer Session II
Wednesday, August 25
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Summer Session II 2021 courses (6 week format)

Fall Semester 2021 (12 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, September 6
  • Holiday -- No Classes Scheduled
Wednesday, September 8
  • Classes commence
Monday, September 13
  • Deferred examinations Period for Summer 2021 course(s) commence
Thursday, September 16
  • Last day to add Fall 2021 course(s)
  • Deferred Examinations Period for Summer 2021 course(s) conclude
Friday, October 1
  • Last day for applications to graduate at Fall 2021 Convocation
Friday, October 8
  • Fall Break begins at the end of classes this day
Monday, October 11
  • Fall Break (Reading Week) -- No Classes Scheduled This Week
  • Holiday
Monday, October 18
  • Fall Break ends and classes resume
Saturday, October 23
  • Fall 2021 Graduation - No Ceremony
Tuesday, November 9
  • 40th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Tuesday, December 7
  • Classes conclude
  • Last day to drop Fall 2021 course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Fall 2021 (12 week format) elective courses
Friday, December 10
  • Final Examinations commence
Saturday, December 11
  • Final Examinations scheduled
Sunday, December 12
  • Final Examinations scheduled
Saturday, December 18
  • Final Examinations scheduled
Sunday, December 19
  • Final Examinations scheduled
Monday, December 20
  • Final Examinations conclude
Tuesday, December 21
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Fall 2021 courses (12 week format)

Fall Semester 2021 - Session I (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Wednesday, September 8
  • Class commence - Fall Session I
Thursday, September 16
  • Last day to add Fall Session I course(s)
Tuesday, October 5
  • 20th class day - Fall Session I
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Friday, October 8
  • Fall Break begins at the end of classes this day
Monday, October 11
  • Fall Break (Reading Week) - No Classes Scheduled This Week
  • Holiday
Monday, October 18
  • Fall break ends and classes resume
Saturday, October 23
  • Fall 2021 Graduation - No ceremony
Tuesday, October 26
  • Classes conclude Fall Session I
  • Last day to drop Fall Session I course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Fall 2021 Session I elective courses
Friday, October 29
  • Final Examinations commence - Fall Session I
Saturday, October 30
  • Final Examinations scheduled - Fall Session I
Sunday, October 31
  • No exams scheduled
Monday, November 1
  • Final Examinations conclude - Fall Session I
Tuesday, November 2
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Fall Session I 2021 courses (6 week format)
Monday, November 8
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Fall Session I

Fall Semester 2021 - Session II (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Thursday, November 4
  • Classes commence Fall Session II
Wednesday, November 10
  • Last day to add Fall Session II course(s)
Wednesday, December 1
  • 20th class day Fall Session II
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Wednesday, December 15
  • Classes conclude Fall Session II
  • Last day to drop Fall Session II course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Fall 2021 Session II elective courses
Friday, December 17
  • Final Examinations commence - Fall Session II
Saturday, December 18
  • Final Examinations scheduled - Fall Session II
Sunday, December 19
  • Final Examinations scheduled - Fall Session II
Monday, December 20
  • Final Examinations conclude - Fall Session II
Tuesday, December 21
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Fall Session II 2021 courses (6 week format)

Winter Semester 2022 (12 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, January 10
  • Classes commence
  • Summer 2022 Convocation Application opens
Friday, January 14
  • Last day to add Winter 2022 course(s)
Monday, January 17
  • Deferred Examinations Period for Fall 2021 (12 Week Format) courses commence
Friday, January 21
  • Deferred Examinations for Fall 2021 (12 Week Format) courses conclude
Friday, February 18
  • Winter Break begins at end of classes this day
Monday, February 21
  • Winter Break – No Classes Scheduled This Week
  • Holiday
Monday, February 28
  • Winter Break ends and classes resume
Friday, March 11
  • 40th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
  • Last day to apply to graduate at Summer 2022 Convocation
Friday, April 8
  • Classes conclude
  • Last day to drop Winter 2022 course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Winter 2022 (12 week format) elective courses
Monday, April 11
  • Final Examinations commence
Friday, April 15
  • Holiday -- No Exams Scheduled
Saturday, April 16
  • No Exams Scheduled
Sunday, April 17
  • No Exams Scheduled
Saturday, April 23
  • Final Examinations conclude
Monday, April 25
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Winter 2022 courses (12 week format)
Friday, April 29
  • Last day for applications to graduate at Summer 2022 Convocation without application late fee

Winter Semester 2022 - Session I (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Monday, January 10
  • Classes commence
  • Summer 2022 Convocation application opens
Friday, January 14
  • Last day to add Winter 2022 course(s)
Friday, February 4
  • 20th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Friday, February 18
  • Classes conclude Winter Session I
  • Last day to drop Winter Session I course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Winter 2022 Session I elective courses
  • Winter Break (Reading Week) begins at end of classes this day
Monday, February 21
  • Winter Break (Reading Week) - No Classes Scheduled This Week
  • Holiday
Monday, February 28
  • Winter Break (Reading Week) ends and classes resume
  • Final Examinations commence - Winter Session I
Wednesday, March 2
  • Final Examinations conclude - Winter Session I
Thursday, March 3
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Winter Session I 2022 courses (6 week format)
Thursday, March 10
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Winter Session I

Winter Semester 2022 - Session II (6 Week Format)

Date Description
Friday, March 4
  • Classes commence

Thursday, March 10
  • Last day to add Winter Session II course(s)
Friday, March 11
  • Last day to apply to graduate at Summer 2022 Convocation
Thursday, March 31
  • 20th class day
  • Instructors have provided feedback on a minimum of 20% of final course grade
Thursday, April 14
  • Classes conclude Winter Session II
  • Last day to drop Winter Session II course(s) without academic penalty
  • Last day to apply online for the Credit/No Credit grading option for eligible Winter 2022 Session II elective courses
Friday, April 15
  • Holiday
Monday, April 18
  • Final Examinations commence - Winter Session II
Wednesday, April 20
  • Final Examinations conclude - Winter Session II
Monday, April 25
  • Deferred Examinations Day for Winter Session II 2022 courses (6 Week Format)
Friday, April 29
  • Last day for applications to graduate at Summer 2022 Convocation without application late fee